2nd Generation Specific (1986-1992) 1986-1992 Discussion including performance modifications and technical support sections.
Sponsored by:

How to make a one-off center console from carbon fiber

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-08, 11:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to make a one-off center console from carbon fiber

Just to introduce myself since I don't post to the forums much, I am an Aerospace Engineering student at SDSU. I don't post very often because I don't work on my car very often and i think that it's better to shut up and learn than spread misinformation.

However, I have been working with composites for close to eight years, and I am the "composites guy" for our our FSAE (open wheel racecar) and DBF (UAV) teams. During a recent "teaching" session for some teammates, I thought I'd take pics to post on here. Once you have all the materials, you will find that making composite parts is surprisingly easy. Its making molds for complex parts that is tough, but if your part doesn't need a mold you can skip that time consuming step.

All of the parts are going to be made from mirror-finish carbon plate we lay up ourselves.

The first step is gathering the materials for the plate, since most people don't have the proper tools/materials laying around.

First for the panel materials:

For the carbon, you can pick virtually any weave, but make sure it is bidirectional. I personally like 5.8 oz/sq. yd. twill weave, which is what we used. It makes a nice pattern when everything is said and done, is easy to wet out, and is fairly cheap. A yard of it is fine, because these panels are mainly cosmetic and you will only need one or two layers.